The Joplin region has endured significant challenges following an EF-5 tornado in May 2011. Leaders want to ensure that as local rebuilding takes place over the next several years, joplinregionalpartnershiprgbeconomic development actions moving forward are regional in scope and pursue efforts in the seven-county, three-state Joplin region comprised of Barton, Jasper and Newton in Missouri; Crawford, Cherokee and Labette in Kansas; and Ottawa in Oklahoma.

As part of that process, the Joplin Regional Partnership (JRP) was created in answer to the need for a comprehensive regional strategy to tie together current efforts; identify visionary, aggressive new initiatives; and provide a framework to increase the economic competitiveness and livability of the region.

Leaders developed a strategic plan, and stakeholders have stated that the Joplin region will be:

  1. A place to learn and advance
  2. A place to work and prosper
  3. A place to live and thrive
  4. A place to recognize and celebrate

The Joseph Newman Innovation Center is a major supporter of the JRP mission and provides needed assistance to all of the partners in the seven-county region. Innovation programs proposed will enhance economic opportunities for entrepreneurs and small businesses in the region.

For more information on the Joplin Regional Partnership, visit www.joplinregionalpartnership.com.